India Named Test & ODI squad for WI 2023 Tour

In preparation for India’s upcoming tour of the West Indies, starting on July 12 in Dominica, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Mukesh Kumar have been called up for their maiden Test appearances.

In the squad announced by the Men’s Selection Committee for the upcoming two-match Test series which also marks the beginning of India’s 2023-25 World Test Championship cycle, Cheteshwar Pujara, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami are absent, while Gaikwad and Jaiswal have been called up as potential start of a transition in Indian Test batting.

As part of the squad, Ruturaj and Mukesh will also play in the three-match ODI series following the Test series, with Sanju Samson joining in as a second wicketkeeper-batter option. India are also scheduled to play five T20Is, and the squad for those matches will be announced soon as well.

The first Test will be played at Windsor Park in Dominica from July 12-16, followed by the second at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad from July 20-24, marking the 100th Test between India and West Indies.

In the first two ODIs, the West Indies will play at the Kensington Oval in Barbados on July 27 and 29. In the third ODI, the West Indies will play for the first time at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad on August 1.

India’s Test squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

India’s ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *