2 cities miss out to host CWC 2023 but hosted in 2011 world cup

On Tuesday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the schedule for the ODI World Cup in India in 2023. Ten cities will host 48 matches from October 5 to November 19.

Aside from attracting sports fans from around the world, the World Cup boosts tourism, hospitality, and other local businesses, especially if it’s an India match.

The following two cities failed to win hosting rights for the 2023 World Cup, after enjoying this privilege at the 2011 World Cup:


In this year’s World Cup, Nagpur’s Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium will not host any matches. The stadium hosted India’s only defeat in the 2011 World Cup.

When MS Dhoni won the tos against South Africa, he chose to bat. India started off brilliantly with Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag. Faf du Plessis knocked Sachin out for 73 (66), but a well-set Sachin made 111 (101) with Gautam Gambhir contributing 69 (75).

From 267/1, India were all out for just 296 and fell 20–30 runs short of their target. Birthday boy Dale Steyn was the wrecker-in-chief, picking up five wickets in his 9.4 overs.

As opposed to India, six of the top-nine Proteas batters scored 20 or more runs.

Despite that, they lost wickets regularly, and it came down to just 13 runs needed off the final over. However, spinner Robin Petersen emerged as the match-winner, hitting two fours and a six against Ashish Nehra.

During the 2023 Border Gavaskar Trophy, the venue hosted India’s first Test against Australia, and last year, a T20I match between the two countries was delayed by a poor drainage system.

In the 2011 World Cup, Mohali hosted India’s semi-final against Pakistan

Its most iconic match was the semi-final between India and Pakistan in the 2011 edition at Mohali’s IS Bindra Stadium.

During the last few IPL matches at the stadium, nearby residents complained about disturbances during matches, which led to a few problems. A report indicates that the BCCI planned to renovate the 1994 stadium before the mega event, but no games have been played there.

This year, the Punjab Cricket Association will move to the newly-built Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium in Mullanpur.

This was one of the biggest matches of all time. India won the toss and batted first, and Sachin played yet another gem: 85 (115). Virender Sehwag and Suresh Raina contributed good 30s, and India crawled to 260/9.

With Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, Harbhajan Singh, and Yuvraj Singh all taking two wickets apiece, it could have been a tricky total.

Pakistan batted long enough to sustain a partnership, apart from Misbah ul Haq’s 56 (76), and were bowled out for 231.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *