Skip to content

BWF Sudirman Cup Winners, Runners Up Till date

south Korea winner of Sudirman cup 2017

Sudirman Cup is world Mixed team Badminton tournament and as per fixtures it will be played in span of every two years Since 1989. First Edition of the Sudirman Cup Badminton Tournament to be host by Djakarta, Indonesia and Winners of the Tournament is Indonesia by beating the Korea in the final.

Since the Inaugural Edition of the Sudirman Cup so far total 15 Edition to be played on. Korea is the Defending champions of the Competition by beating china in the final of 2017 sudirman cup which to be played at Gold Coast, Australia.

If we look at the Sudirman cup winners list then China is the Most successful nations as they win the Sudirman cup title 10 occasion in 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015 and also two time runners up in 2003 and 2017. Apart of the china, South Korea and Indonesia who became the champions of Sudirman cup.

south Korea winner of Sudirman cup 2017
south Korea winner of Sudirman cup 2017

Look at below the List of Sudirman cup Badminton tournament Winners, Runners up and Semi finalist team of the each editions.

Sudirman Cup Winners – Runners up List

The 1st1989Djakarta, IndonesiaIndonesiaKoreaChina, Demark
The 2nd1991Copenhagen, DemarkKoreaIndonesiaChina, Demark
The 3rd1993Birmingham, EnglandKoreaIndonesiaChina, Demark
The 4th1995Lausanne,SwitzerlandChinaIndonesiaKorea, Demark
The 5th1997Glasgow,EnglandChinaKoreaIndonesia, Demark
The 6th1999Copenhagen,DemarkChinaDemarkIndonesia, Korea
The 7th2001Sevilla,SpainChinaIndonesiaDemark, Korea
The 8th2003Eindhoven,NetherlandsKoreaChinaIndonesia, Demark
The 9th2005Beijing,ChinaChinaIndonesiaDemark , Korea
The 10th2007Glasgow,EnglandChinaIndonesiaEngland, Korea
The 11th2009Guangzhou,ChinaChinaKoreaIndonesia, Malaysia
The 12th2011Qindao,ChinaChinaDemarkKorea, Indonesia
The 13th2013Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaChinaKoreaDemark, Thailand
The 14th2015Dongguan, ChinaChinaJapanIndonesia、Korea
The 15th2017Gold Coast, AustraliaKoreaChinaJapan, Thailand

Country wise Winners of Sudirman cup

China10 (1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015)2 (2003, 2017)
South Korea4 (1991, 1993, 2003, 2017)4 (1989, 1997, 2009, 2013)
Indonesia1 (1989)6 (1991, 1993, 1995, 2001, 2005, 2007)
Denmark2 (1999, 2011)
Japan1 (2015)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *