Skip to content

Kumar Sangakkara serve as First Non British President of MCC

  • by

Former Captain and Legend Wicket Keeper batsman of the Sri Lankan Cricket team Kumar Sangakkara has been serve as a next president of the Marbylone Cricket club – MCC. He become the First non british president of the MCC. Sangakkara startin his tenure from the october 2019.

Sangakkara was given an honorary life membership of the club in 2012 and is also part of the MCC’s World Cricket Committee.

“It is a huge honour to be named the next President of MCC and it is a role that I am thoroughly looking forward to,” Sangakkara said.

Kumar Sangakkara Become president of MCC
Kumar Sangakkara Become president of MCC

“For me, MCC is the greatest cricket club in the world, with its global reach and continued progress for cricket on and off the pitch. The year 2020 is going to be yet another significant one in cricket, especially at Lord’s, and I am thrilled that I am going to be able to play a part in supporting its future as President of MCC,” he added.

Current President of MCC Anthony Wreford so now Sangakkara charge him from October 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *