Skip to content

Joint Bid from Sweden and Denmark for UEFA Women’s Euro 2029

  • by

According to the two federations, Denmark and Sweden will bid to host the 2029 Women’s European Championship.

Following last year’s final round of voting by UEFA’s executive committee, their four-nation bid for the 2025 edition was defeated by Switzerland.

It takes up to eight stadiums to host the tournament with 16 teams and 31 games.

In a potentially controversial vote on extending term limits, both Swedish and Danish soccer leaders backed UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin during the UEFA annual meeting in Paris.

Norway voted no earlier at the UEFA congress, along with England and Iceland, to separate the term-limit issue from a wider package of statute changes.

At a news conference after the meeting, Ceferin announced he would not run for president in 2027, an election that would have extended his presidency beyond 15 years.

Euro live stream 2024

UEFA’s senior vice president for Ceferin is Karl-Erik Nilsson of Sweden. Jesper Moller of Denmark is also on the UEFA executive committee and chairs its legal committee.

One of the few female presidents in world soccer is Lise Klaveness, a former national team player.

The Norwegian women’s soccer team is a two-time European champion, while Sweden won the first edition in 1984. Denmark did not win the competition.

Bidding for the Women’s Euro 2029 has not yet been opened by UEFA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *